What I Know For Sure…#1

One of my greatest desires as I grow and age is to be a Titus 2 woman in my community. I sincerely love mentoring younger women in Christ, as much as I love being mentored by women who are further along on the journey. I can only hope that both in my online life (as a blogger and a social media user) and in my real life, that I can use my experiences as a way to encourage and support younger women in Christ.

It was a few weeks ago that, while talking with some friends on The Influence Network forums, I decided it would be a good idea to share some of the lessons I have learned in my twenties. While I don’t consider myself an “older woman,” (I do feel old, but that’s another story! haha!) I do believe that I have grown quite a bit during my twenties, and now that I am in my thirties, I feel I have some “wisdom” (or whatever you wanna call it!) to share with my younger sisters in Christ.

Titus 2

What I (think) I Know For Sure – Part I:

The older I get, the less I know.

As a planner, in my twenties I used to be so “certain” of everything (and desired certainty in my life), from my education, to my work life, my relationship with my husband and beyond. As I got older, had a child and entered my thirties, I find I am less certain about most things in life. It isn’t that I still don’t plan or prepare for things, it’s just that I don’t get as worked-up about the uncertainty as I used to. My husband will laugh at this sentence, as he knows my tendency to freak out about the small things….

Now I am beginning to see that God is using the uncertainty in my life to teach me about trust and faith. I struggle tremendously with trusting God because of certain experiences in my twenties. As I have gone through various situations where uncertainty loomed, I continuously find God in the midst of it all, teaching me to hold His hand and trust Him through the process. The words of the old hymn “Tis so sweet” are so appropriate….

Tis so Sweet

Don’t be afraid of the uncertainty in your life, my sisters. Embrace the process. Love the questions. May God also use your seasons of uncertainty in your twenties to draw you closer to Him. May you trust Him more and more. He loves you!!!

What about you? Have you experience some wonderful lessons that you’d like to share? Feel free to link-up with Lindsay & Amy to share your stories!

Blessings,

Sweet Home Santa Barbara

Comments

  1. Annabella says:

    This speaks so much truth to what is currently going on in my personal life. Thank you for the words Carrie. They could not have come at a better time. Sometimes I forget how worrying is found sinful to God because you must trust. Trust through sunshine and storms.

  2. So thankful you have linked up with us! God has put it on my heart to become a Titus 2 mentor one day, and I can’t wait for Him to bring those relationships into my life! 🙂 I love your lesson so much. I have found that it’s a lot easier to say I trust God, than to ACTUALLY trust Him. Seems silly right? But walking in complete faith is often hard for me to do. But when I do it? I know it’s what I want to do for the rest of my life!

  3. SO good Carrie!!

  4. lindsayladon says:

    Such a good word, Carrie! So perfect and encouraging for the season I’m in! Thanks for sharing and linking up! Love your heart! 🙂

  5. spitlerika says:

    I was getting ready for the day and literally just thinking about how many questions I have in my life or about my life right now. If someone isn’t asking me “what’s next”, then I certainly am. This reminder was so timely for me, as I found the struggle this morning to embrace it all… thanks Carrie!

    • I’m working through this right now. It’s something that’s very hard for me. It never gets easier. God is really showing me a ton right now. May we both grow in grace in this season!!!!

    • I so know how you feel. I’m going through the same thing right now. I’m having a hard time loving the questions. I’m mostly failing at trusting God. Thankfully it’s a journey, not a destination. 🙂 love ya!

Leave a Reply

richstevenson.org

investing in young leaders in missions and church planting

KevinBreeding

A Blog Site for Biblical Insight

k r i s t a o n p u r p o s e

living life intentionally

Blissful and Domestic - Creating a Beautiful Life on Less

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

girlofa1000dreams.wordpress.com/

One Girl. One Thousand Dreams. (And growing!)

Green Plate Rule

Making healthy meals simple and fun for the whole family.

be forever lovely

be forever lovely, upon on all whom you heed, for we together yearn, the peace within that's freed. :: b.l.f. lund

A Royal Daughter

A LITTLE HOPE + GRACE FOR KINGDOM MINDED LIVING

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Modern Mrs. Darcy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

erin lauray

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Wholehearted Radiance

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

5OH Wifey

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Cassidy Robinson

a lifestyle blog

Message in a Mason Jar

Finding the Loveliest Things in the Most Ordinary Containers

takeitlikeamommy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

