Brand “You” – The Best Ways to Own Your Voice

I had the great honor and privilege to attend a wonderful class through The Influence Network this past Monday night. Called “Brand You,” Stephanie Bryant gave a wonderful talk about defining your online brand, owning your voice and finding the best and most authentic way you can serve others for Christ (whether that be in a blog, business, or both).

Brand You Pic

What are some of the wonderful take-aways I got from this course?

1. Find your own voice. “Your brand is simply the space that God has called you to fill in the world.”

Stephanie did such a great job explaining this. She mentioned spending time finding out what your “hearts cry” is. Another question she asked us during the class was, “What is the topic or topic(s) that really speak to you? What are you just naturally good or something that comes easy to you?”  God opened my eyes during this portion, and showed me that I am called to be uniquely me, and He has given me a particular voice for this time and this season of my life. It is up to me to use it appropriately.

2. Be authentic. “What is the thing YOU’RE designed to do?”

I have been struggling with this. I think I spent too much time worrying about what other well-known bloggers think of me. I have perhaps lost my way a bit, as I have been too concerned with patterning my blog design, content, networking, etc. after what the majority of other bloggers are doing. While getting advice from mentors or seasons folks in your area is certainly important, straying from who you are as a person (or in my case, as a blogger) is NOT authentic. God has called me to be a unique tool for His use and His glory, not a mediocre copy of someone else.

3. Serve others. “Who are you designed to serve?”

Stephanie talked at length about using your blog to serve others. Ultimately, this blog is a means to serve my readers. God has given this blog to me to use as a tool to serve others, to reach them for Christ and to bring the glory back to Him. What other bloggers do should not be my concern. I am called to serve my readers, not theirs.

Psalm 115 1

What does this mean for the blog?

I have some promises to make to you, my readers. It’s time for me to “embrace my name” as Stephanie put it during the class.

My commitments:

1. A key component of my blog is authenticity. I promise to post authentic, faith-related and lifestyle-related content. If I do not feel I can be “totally real” when writing a post, I will not be sharing the content. This means certain topics may be off-limits to protect others privacy.

2. I will also be sharing more of my struggles on “waiting with joy.” This means I will be sharing more of our church-planting journey as we go through this process, as well as other issues that pertain to “waiting with joy.” I hope this portion can be a support to those working in ministry, too.

3.  Finally, I plan to continue to share Biblical passages/devotionals and worship music to encourage my readers. Encouragement is something I am extremely passionate about, and I love finding songs or Biblical passages/verses/devotionals to help other women who are struggling, just like me!

I’d love to hear more about what your “brand you” is and/or who you feel called to serve in your workplace or in your personal life. Please feel free to share in the comments. 🙂

Blessings,

Comments

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this! I’ve been thinking a lot about my voice and my brand over the past week. It’s something I want to truly develop. Can’t wait to dive more into this and the Influence Network.

Leave a Reply

richstevenson.org

investing in young leaders in missions and church planting

KevinBreeding

A Blog Site for Biblical Insight

k r i s t a o n p u r p o s e

living life intentionally

Blissful and Domestic - Creating a Beautiful Life on Less

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

girlofa1000dreams.wordpress.com/

One Girl. One Thousand Dreams. (And growing!)

Green Plate Rule

Making healthy meals simple and fun for the whole family.

be forever lovely

be forever lovely, upon on all whom you heed, for we together yearn, the peace within that's freed. :: b.l.f. lund

A Royal Daughter

A LITTLE HOPE + GRACE FOR KINGDOM MINDED LIVING

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Modern Mrs. Darcy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

erin lauray

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Wholehearted Radiance

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

5OH Wifey

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Cassidy Robinson

a lifestyle blog

Message in a Mason Jar

Finding the Loveliest Things in the Most Ordinary Containers

takeitlikeamommy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

