Overcome The Lie

I was so excited when Ashley over at The Story Project shared her idea for an Overcome The Lie campaign. Her idea was to have women come together to share lies spoken over us, and to support one another through prayer and the Word to diffuse the lies. I was really inspired by this, because I know as a woman that we all struggle with lies spoken over us. I fully believe it goes back to the Garden of Eden and the fall of man.

One of the lies I struggle with often is that I am not “good enough” or “worthy enough”, especially when I think about being a worship leader. I always question my leadership abilities, musical abilities, singing abilities, etc. I am constantly over-analyzing and criticizing myself. I know in my mind that these are lies, but in my heart, I still struggle. I am finding that the only way to combat these lies is through God’s word. I must choose to believe what HE says about me, and not what Satan tells me, which are lies.

What lies do you believe about yourself or tell yourself? What lies have been spoken over you? Please share in the comments below, or follow along on twitter using the #overcomethelie hash-tag.

If you struggle with any lies, I encourage you to consider going to God’s word to combat these lies. Another great resource is Beth Moore’s Praying God’s Word. Listed below are some  of the scriptures others have given me this week have helped tremendously.

Zephaniah 3:17

For the Lord your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.

Psalm 139:17-18

How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered! I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up, you are still with me!

Romans 8:17

And since we are his children, we are his heirs. In fact, together with Christ we are heirs of God’s glory. But if we are to share his glory, we must also share his suffering.

Ephesians 3:19

May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

I pray you find God’s truth and believe what He says about you, and not the lies. We can overcome.

Blessings,

rsz_overcomelie2

{Photo Credit: Ashley @ The Story Project}

Comments

  1. Love love love the verses!!! I’m thinking the Zephaniah is going to be my new bathroom mirror verse! And here’s to overcoming the lie! We are enough, beautiful, and strong in Christ!

Leave a Reply

richstevenson.org

investing in young leaders in missions and church planting

KevinBreeding

A Blog Site for Biblical Insight

k r i s t a o n p u r p o s e

living life intentionally

Blissful and Domestic - Creating a Beautiful Life on Less

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

girlofa1000dreams.wordpress.com/

One Girl. One Thousand Dreams. (And growing!)

Green Plate Rule

Making healthy meals simple and fun for the whole family.

be forever lovely

be forever lovely, upon on all whom you heed, for we together yearn, the peace within that's freed. :: b.l.f. lund

A Royal Daughter

A LITTLE HOPE + GRACE FOR KINGDOM MINDED LIVING

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Modern Mrs. Darcy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

erin lauray

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Wholehearted Radiance

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

5OH Wifey

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Cassidy Robinson

a lifestyle blog

takeitlikeamommy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

