Thoughts on the Flu

20130117-080743.jpg

So all of my well laid plans to write some more this week were utterly destroyed.

The unthinkable happened – I came down with the flu.

That may seem reasonable to most of ya’ll, but I almost NEVER get sick. Yes, I am a teacher and yes, I am exposed to more germs than most…but I like to pride myself on the fact that my immune system has built itself up over the years.

So imagine my surprise when Tuesday evening I came down with flu-like symptoms: fever, achy body, and a slight cough. I was ordered by my husband to stay home and see a doctor.

I spent the better part of an hour yesterday at the walk-in doctor’s office, only get find out I tested negative for the flu – but since I “had all the symptoms,” the doctor prescribed me Tami-flu and sent me on my way. All was well – until I saw the price tag for the medicine. $115 for 5 days worth of medicine?? WHAT? That is CRAZY. I had a little pity party about the cost of the meds, but then I realized I didn’t have much of a choice in the matter. My normal ability to get over sickness quickly hadn’t worked so far.

So after the shock wore off, I headed home and began my medicine regiment.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get better right away, so I am home again today, resting. As a worker bee, this staying home brings about a lot of guilt. I feel awful that I have had to get a substitute for two days. I feel bad that my husband has had to do most of what I normally do in caring for our daughter.

In the midst of this guilt, I am also thankful – for the tremendous support of friends and family who have helped me out this week so I can recover at home. I sure hope I get better so I can return to work tomorrow.

What do you all do to get better when you’re sick? Any home-made remedies you’d care to share? I am a big fan of the all-natural so share away!

Blessings, friends….I hope to get back to normal posting in the next few days!

Comments

  1. I hope you feel better, Carrie 😦 Don’t feel guilty! (Okay, I admit, I always feel guilty too) but sometimes we get sick b/c our body needs to shut down for a little bit to be recharged again. So, instead of feeling guilty, enjoy the surprise of your sickness and rest! Read or watch some tv… do something you normally don’t get a chance at doing 🙂 When I’m sick I love going over the couch and making a fortress there and then I pop in some funny tv shows (new or old) and just laugh all day. It cures pretty well. hahaha

Leave a Reply

richstevenson.org

investing in young leaders in missions and church planting

KevinBreeding

A Blog Site for Biblical Insight

k r i s t a o n p u r p o s e

living life intentionally

Blissful and Domestic - Creating a Beautiful Life on Less

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

girlofa1000dreams.wordpress.com/

One Girl. One Thousand Dreams. (And growing!)

Green Plate Rule

Making healthy meals simple and fun for the whole family.

be forever lovely

be forever lovely, upon on all whom you heed, for we together yearn, the peace within that's freed. :: b.l.f. lund

A Royal Daughter

A LITTLE HOPE + GRACE FOR KINGDOM MINDED LIVING

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Modern Mrs. Darcy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

erin lauray

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Wholehearted Radiance

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

5OH Wifey

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Cassidy Robinson

a lifestyle blog

Message in a Mason Jar

Finding the Loveliest Things in the Most Ordinary Containers

takeitlikeamommy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

