Worshipful Wednesdays, Part I

Worshipful Wednesdays Pic

Today I am launching a new weekly series called Worshipful Wednesdays. In this series, we will discuss all things related to worship and worship leading, evaluate all types of worship songs & albums, and above all, use this series as a platform to honor and glorify the Lord, through His word and song.

Discrepancy – When I listen to new music, as a worship leader, I have to admit I’m highly critical. I am looking for music that is well written, scripturally based and well sung/played. Also, as a part of my personal style, I also look for music that isn’t too “techy driven,” meaning that it doesn’t sound like it was digitally mastered in a studio. Maybe you like that stuff, but I highly value acoustic settings and live-band worship albums. 🙂 I plan only to share the album info and what I love. I do not plan to do critiques, as this blog’s mission is to use social media to encourage and uplift others. Also, all opinions are my own, and I was not given this album; I evaluated it of my own free will.

Today’s Review – Bethel Music’s The Loft Sessions

Before my blog launched, I posted on the Influence Facebook page asking for worship song recommendations. Moriah Sunde recommended I listen to Bethel: The Loft Sessions when I asked for some new worship music to listen to. I was extremely excited about trying out some new worship stuff. Although I was pretty familiar with Bethel Redding Church, I had never listened to their worship music/albums. I decided to go ahead and give the CD a whirl and see how I liked it.

CD Background Info:The Loft Sessions album is an acoustic-driven album that was recorded in a small loft in front of a live audience.

Musician(s) Background: Bethel Music is a collection of worship leaders and musicians who play/lead worship at Bethel Redding Church.

What I love:

The lyrics were what stood out to me when I began listening to this CD. Each song cut straight to the point, and are songs that anyone can sing along to. The lyrics were carefully crafted, without being too wordy. I’m not a huge fan of overly complicated lyrics, and really appreciate when musicians and worship leaders get straight to the point in songwriting. The musicality is lovely, as the music is mostly acoustic and not overly synthesized or loud for no reason. The best part of the entire CD is that the songs never seem to get old to me. I can listen to them almost every day and it’s like a new experience with the Lord.

My two favorite songs on this album were “One Thing Remains” (Brian Johnson) & “Come to Me” (Jenn Johnson), because they resonated with my soul. I can relate to these songs and they speak so clearly to where I am at in my walk with Christ right now. The emotion that pours out of these two particular songs is refreshing and it is such a joy to hear how Brian & Jenn Johnson used God’s word as the basis for writing them.

Take a Listen

Favorite line from “One Thing Remains”

In death, in life

I’m confident and covered by the power

Of Your great love.

My debt is paid

And there’s nothing that can separate my heart

From Your great love.

Favorite line from “Come to Me”

Don’t look to the right or to the left

Keep your eyes on Me

You will not be shaken, You will not be moved

I am the hand to hold, I am the truth, I am the way.

Come to me, I’m all that you need.

Other songs I liked on the CD

Bethel: The Loft Sessions:For more information or to buy the album, click below to check it out! 🙂

Comments

  1. cassidyrobinson says:

    One thing remains is such an amazing song!! It is one of my favorites. I love love love the bridge too!! So great. Bethel is a great worship team. I know I’m going to LOVE this series! 🙂

  2. Ah!! I want to listen!! I love acoustic songs… it’s my weakness 😀 One thing remains is an awesome song! I love that you’re doing these reviews 😀 I need to find more music!

  3. This sounds great. Do you know where this CD is available? Itunes or Amazon? I wondered if it’s available for preview.

  4. Definitely one of my favorite worship albums!

Leave a Reply

richstevenson.org

investing in young leaders in missions and church planting

KevinBreeding

A Blog Site for Biblical Insight

k r i s t a o n p u r p o s e

living life intentionally

Blissful and Domestic - Creating a Beautiful Life on Less

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

girlofa1000dreams.wordpress.com/

One Girl. One Thousand Dreams. (And growing!)

Green Plate Rule

Making healthy meals simple and fun for the whole family.

be forever lovely

be forever lovely, upon on all whom you heed, for we together yearn, the peace within that's freed. :: b.l.f. lund

A Royal Daughter

A LITTLE HOPE + GRACE FOR KINGDOM MINDED LIVING

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Modern Mrs. Darcy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

erin lauray

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Wholehearted Radiance

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

5OH Wifey

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Cassidy Robinson

a lifestyle blog

takeitlikeamommy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

