Time To Ask – A New Years Resolution

John Mark McMillan – Time to Ask

“Just because you’ve thought about it, doesn’t mean you’ve asked. STOP and ask OUT LOUD.”

Each year I usually make a list of goals I’d like to accomplish in the coming new year. Most of the time this list was a long list of things I wanted to accomplish during the year. Sometimes I would meet the list, sometimes I wouldn’t.This year I plan to focus on one specific word instead of a long to-do list, and that word is PRAY.

I was greatly inspired by a movement online at One Word 365, where folks all over the world are becoming more intentional about their goals for the new year. Instead of making a lengthy to-do list, we are committing to let this one word guide the entirety of our lives.

How did I come about picking this word? Well, it all started at church. My worship team buddies recommended that I listen to a sermon on Prayer by John Mark McMillan (link above). John Mark is most well-known for writing great worship songs like “How He Loves.” .I decided to go ahead and heed my friend’s advice, and I gave the sermon a shot. I really felt like it was something that I needed to do. Hello, Holy Spirit moment!

You see, prayer is something I STRUGGLE with. I am NOT the most effective communicator, ESPECIALLY when it comes to verbal or written communication. I am great at social media, emails, texting, etc….but talking? NO. NOT AT ALL. While reading the Word (or even worshiping through song) has always come naturally to me, growing my relationship in Christ through prayer has always seemed so difficult to me.

I have continuously felt the conviction of the Holy Spirit recently regarding this issue. And when I was asked to listen to this sermon… I knew it is a GOD thing. I spent some time listening to it one Sunday night and finished it at the end of my work day the following Monday when all was quiet in my classroom. HOLY MOLY – it was phenomenal.

John Mark’s points in his message really opened my eyes to my incredible LACK of a prayer life. I have never thought about the fact that, while I have said things that needed praying for OR thought things I wanted/needed from the Lord, that I had never really stopped and asked Him. Seems so silly to me now, but this is a huge AHA moment (thanks Oprah) for me.

Fast forward to today…I am going all in, to focus intentionally on prayer in 2013 and beyond. I plan to start keeping a prayer journal and plan to write down ALL requests and ALL prayer issues that I want God to know about. I am not writing these down so God (like Santa) can give me everything I want; instead, I choose to do this because I want to develop a more intimate relationship with Him. And really isn’t that what this is all about? Forming a deeper, more intimate relationship with Christ?In doing so, I will surely garner fruit for His glory in my life.

What do you all think? What are some of the spiritual things you struggle with? What are some of your goals or your word for the new year?

I encourage you all to consider listening to this sermon. I sure hope it benefits you the way it has benefited me! 🙂

Blessings,
Carrie

Comments

  1. I love John Mark as well!! I’ll be sure to listen to the sermon. 🙂 I will join in on intentionally trying to pray more often. I am a mind wanderer..it’s hard for me to focus for long periods.. 🙂 great post!

  2. cassidyrobinson says:

    I am right there with you sister!! Prayer has been difficult for me, because I am always so distracted. Especially in my thought life. I have thoughts constantly in and out of my head, that I have to be super intentional when praying. Thank you for sharing JMM’s message, I will have to give it a listen!

  3. I’ve been seeing this around too and thinking about what would mine be. I keep floating back and forth….love, peace, joy, pray (I struggle along with you), freedom, grace, __________. Maybe I should make it decisive. ……..

  4. prayer is such a good focus for the year!!! My word is listen, because I need to take more time to be quiet and listen, to my family and to God!

    I definitely need to work on prayer time too, and that is something I really am going to try to work on this year, although it is not my “official” word 😉

  5. jonstolpe says:

    Epiphany is my word for 2013. I’m excited to see God revealed in new ways in the coming year.

Leave a Reply

richstevenson.org

investing in young leaders in missions and church planting

KevinBreeding

A Blog Site for Biblical Insight

k r i s t a o n p u r p o s e

living life intentionally

Blissful and Domestic - Creating a Beautiful Life on Less

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

girlofa1000dreams.wordpress.com/

One Girl. One Thousand Dreams. (And growing!)

Green Plate Rule

Making healthy meals simple and fun for the whole family.

be forever lovely

be forever lovely, upon on all whom you heed, for we together yearn, the peace within that's freed. :: b.l.f. lund

A Royal Daughter

A LITTLE HOPE + GRACE FOR KINGDOM MINDED LIVING

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Modern Mrs. Darcy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

erin lauray

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Wholehearted Radiance

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

5OH Wifey

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Cassidy Robinson

a lifestyle blog

Message in a Mason Jar

Finding the Loveliest Things in the Most Ordinary Containers

takeitlikeamommy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

