The Call

2009….the year that changed everything. The biggest event in my life had just happened…..I became a mom to my sweet daughter.

What a life change! I never knew I could love someone as much as I love her. Everything happened so fast and in an instant my world was turned upside down, in the best way. In many ways the first year of her life was very difficult for me – transitionally, emotionally, even spiritually – but God use that & did some of the most intense and amazing work in me. And it was during that year that “The Call” happened.

When she was 6 months old, God stirred something in my husbands heart. He and his best friend had talked off and on for years about starting a church together. They would always joke about it, but never really prayed about it or gave it serious thought. One day, his friend got serious – he asked us to pray about it. He said, “Pray and ask God to reveal a city we should plant a church in. Take a week, do not discuss it with me. If we all get the same city we will know that God will want us to plant a church there.” So, my husband and I both prayed off and on for a week straight. Separately, we got a city through prayer.

We both got Phoenix, AZ.

We were shocked at the odds, but were certain my husbands best friend would not get the same city. Well, within the next few days, my hubby and his best friend had a conversation.We waited for his revelation, with baited breath…

Turns out, HE got Phoenix, TOO!

Wow, God was too cool….and that just blew us away. Little did we know, that was only the beginning. Ever since that day, God has taken us all on a journey of preparation for church planting in the Phoenix area. Through many ups and downs, doubting, questioning and waiting, He has guided us vocationally in ministry, through worship leading experiences, through spiritual and emotional (and even financial) preparation as we wait on the Lord.

The experience of waiting on the Lord in this specific area of my life is the main reason why I named my blog waiting with joy. God has really shown me so much of Himself, about how to trust and rely on Him. I cannot plant this church in my own power. I cannot do so financially, physically, spiritually or otherwise. He has to come through. And I am learning to believe that He will.

And I choose to wait and trust that God has a great plan for us, and for our (coming) church, Endeavor Christian Fellowship (which will serve the greater Phoenix area – Scottsdale/Mesa/Chandler). And we are thrilled, expectant, excited, anxious….you name it!

20130102-182939.jpg

I hope to use this experience as a main staple/backbone for my blog. I know that women who are involved in these types of ministries need massive encouragement to keep the faith. I pray I can be of encouragement to all of you who are ministry wives/ministry workers/church planter ladies, as God uses this journey to make me more like Him.

If you think of it, please pray for my husband and I, our friends who will be planting with us, Brad and Katie, and for the city of Phoenix, Chandler, Mesa and Scottsdale, where we will be serving at and planting our church at. Please pray for the following, if you can:

  • Financial provision for us. We need specific amounts of money to be able to pay off some debts, sell our home and move across the country to Phoenix.
  • Spiritual preparation
  • For God to bring people into our lives that could help support us in the Phoenix area.

I thank you for your support and continued prayers. I look forward to sharing this part of my journey with you.

Comments

  1. This. Is. Tremendous.

    *bigheartseverywhere*

    Lovelovelovelovelovelove.

  2. What a terrifying and exciting journey we are on Carrie! Brad and I are so blessed that God has called us to serve with you and Dan.

  3. drewpearce says:

    I had no idea you were pursuing church planting. Good on ya!

  4. I’m happy you’re doing this blog, Carrie! Keep it up!

  5. cassidyrobinson says:

    What a great story of surrendering to God’s call on your lives! Love hearing stories of others in ministry. So you will be moving from Jax, I’m assuming?? 🙂

  6. I’m so excited for this! You’re on my prayer list, girl! Can’t wait to meet you!

  7. Wow! so excited for you and everything God has planned for you! What a great blog!

  8. Wow this story is amazing! God really is working in your way. I am so happy for you and I will definitely pray for you and your husband.

  9. My brother and his wife and son live in Gilbert and my sis and her son live in Central Phoenix, both of my siblings being transplants from our home here in the Midwest. I’m looking forward to hearing more of your journey to plant a church out there!

  10. Dr. Linda Ford says:

    Carrie, I had no idea that you had been called to plant a church. I knew you and Dan were very special; but, now I am blessed to be able to reap joy from your experiences in listening to God. Thank you for not only listening but obeying. Your courage is inspiring.
    Love and Belief/Dr. Linda.

Trackbacks

  1. […] funny thing is, I feel like I have been in the process of change/transition for many years now. Ever since the call, my husband and I have been on a wonderful and scary journey with the […]

Leave a Reply

richstevenson.org

investing in young leaders in missions and church planting

KevinBreeding

A Blog Site for Biblical Insight

k r i s t a o n p u r p o s e

living life intentionally

Blissful and Domestic - Creating a Beautiful Life on Less

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

girlofa1000dreams.wordpress.com/

One Girl. One Thousand Dreams. (And growing!)

Green Plate Rule

Making healthy meals simple and fun for the whole family.

be forever lovely

be forever lovely, upon on all whom you heed, for we together yearn, the peace within that's freed. :: b.l.f. lund

A Royal Daughter

A LITTLE HOPE + GRACE FOR KINGDOM MINDED LIVING

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Modern Mrs. Darcy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

erin lauray

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Wholehearted Radiance

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

5OH Wifey

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Cassidy Robinson

a lifestyle blog

takeitlikeamommy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

