Why “Waiting With Joy?”

When I was thinking of a name for my blog, I had several ideas. My original idea was “song of joy,” because that is what the name Carrie means (ironic, right?? – since I am a worship leader!). That domain name was taken, so I took that as a sign.

Then “waiting with joy” popped into my head. Waiting has been the theme of my life for many years, as has the idea of finding joy in the midst of life’s frustrations. The more I marinated on it, I came to find that this name perfectly encompassed everything about me and where I am in my life at this time…..and it perfectly explains what God has been trying to teach me.

You see, many times our timetable for our lives does not match God’s time table. And oftentimes, we get short-sighted, frustrated and even angry at God. We might even feel as if God has forgotten us or abandoned us. But I have found in the recent years that we can choose Joy throughout life’s uneasy or difficult situations. And choosing Joy can make the journey that much more fulfilling. It doesn’t mean its easy, but it is definitely worth it.

Are you struggling with feeling like you are in the “waiting room of life?” And like the doctor’s office, you feel that God might not ever call on you? I have been there. Keep on trusting. Choose Joy. God has not forgotten you. He loves you.

May this verse bless you today as it blessed me….

Psalm 16:11 (NLT):

“You will show me the way of life,
granting me the joy of your presence and the pleasures of living with you forever.”

tattoo choose joy

{Photo Credit: Krista Wilbur, www.kristaonpurpose.com}

Comments

  1. Hey! I know that wrist. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the link, Carrie, and the reminder to wait… patiently, even when it’s hard… with JOY! πŸ™‚

  2. I have a feeling your words & your blog will be of much help to me this year, Carrie! I look forward to reading. Also, my mom many years ago started something she (and I) hope blossoms some day- a women’s group, called Song of Joy Women’s Ministries. πŸ˜‰

  3. I can completely relate to the “waiting room”, I have always been a Christian and was brought up in the church but haven’t been in awhile. I have recently committed myself to getting back on track with God.

  4. Hi Carrie, I had the blessing to be with your mom (I am Peter’s cousin) on the day you posted this. Being the wonderful woman that she is she knew it was just the message I needed to hear. It has been my anchor ever since. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

richstevenson.org

investing in young leaders in missions and church planting

KevinBreeding

A Blog Site for Biblical Insight

k r i s t a o n p u r p o s e

living life intentionally

Blissful and Domestic - Creating a Beautiful Life on Less

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

girlofa1000dreams.wordpress.com/

One Girl. One Thousand Dreams. (And growing!)

Green Plate Rule

Making healthy meals simple and fun for the whole family.

be forever lovely

be forever lovely, upon on all whom you heed, for we together yearn, the peace within that's freed. :: b.l.f. lund

A Royal Daughter

A LITTLE HOPE + GRACE FOR KINGDOM MINDED LIVING

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Modern Mrs. Darcy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

erin lauray

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Wholehearted Radiance

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

5OH Wifey

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

Cassidy Robinson

a lifestyle blog

takeitlikeamommy

Offering encouragement & authenticity to women through God's word & worship music.

